Thursday, August 01, 2019

RITA Firsts: the RWA Comments

The RWA has issued a statement about the 2019 RITA winners:
We wanted to recognize the historic evening and RWA’s first two black author winners – M. Malone and Kennedy Ryan – and first South Asian author winner, Nisha Sharma. Their wins were far too long in coming. That delay only highlights the impressive nature of what they accomplished.

This was the first year in which the final round judging panel for each category included at least one judge from outside RWA. We also required that the final round judging panels be more diverse and reflective of our membership. It is our belief that these changes resulted in a fairer and more inclusive contest final, allowing members who might have been shut out of winning in the past to shine.

There will be more changes coming to the RITA Award in the 2019-2020 award season. 

No comments:

Post a Comment